Many to Many UI - Checkboxes

Jun 14, 2011 at 10:17 AM

Hi,

First off great set of modules that really extend the power of Orchard, you really have raised the bar!!

I have been looking at Orchard as a CMS solution and the first thing I needed to do was create a few many to many relationships for my content.  I'm a software developer so the first thing I did was get my hand dirty and run through the N-N documentation http://orchardproject.net/docs/Creating-1-n-and-n-n-relations.ashx this was fine but I wanted to use ContentParts for both parts of the relationship and have attempted to get this working.  I've hit a few bumps along the way, mostly due to my lack of understanding of content parts & types and the shape rendering.  Could you explain the difference between a Content Type, Content Item and Content Part?  I've read and re-read the documentation and think I understand it but then I read something else and I'm not so sure!!

Anyway, needed more than 1 N-N relationship seemed a lot of duplication so I started to investigate a generic solution and I come across your Mechanics module.

I've read through your documentation and have taken a look at your theoretical Economics example.  I understand how you relate your domain Content Items to Sockets and create relational parts that include the Connector to wire up the relationship.  This all seems very logical and succinct.

What I'm not so sure about it the DefaultEditorParadigm, how does this work?  I notice that you render a select box for your ProductToCategory connector, and the "Hidden" paradigm on the  CategoryToProduct seems to hide that realtionship when creating a new Category.  How do you define these paradigms?  As a select box is rendered for your ProductToCategory connector, titled 'Select one', its seems to restricts the relationship to many to one, even though the connector seems to be configured for many to many.  Could you render a list of checkboxes or a multi select list?  If so how?